Fire Emblem: Awakening Advanced Classes Guide: Great Lord, Paladin

Now that we have covered all the basic starter classes, it’s time to take a look at the advanced classes included in Fire Emblem: Awakening. Most of these classes are actually more specialized versions of the starter classes and feature overall better growth and skills. It’s important to play aroiund with the class change system to make the advanced classes as strong as they can be. Changing a mage into a physical oriented class won’t be doing you any good since all the bonus stats will be related to the magic stat and so on. It’s still possible to make some drastic changes but it’s going to require more work and it’s probably not worth it. Still, the possibility is there to customize your army to your likings.

  • Great Lord

The Great Lord is a great advanced class even though it’s exclusive to Chrom and Lucina. This class has all rounded stats and even some decent growth for all of the stats, except for magic which is useless for Great Lords. If well trained, Great Lords can destroy almost anything in their paths since their good speed allows them to attack twice pretty much anyone. Also, unlike the previous Fire Emblem games, you can promote the Lord to Great Lord whenever you want after reaching Level 10. As a support unit, the Great Lord works just as well, with the unit giving a good +4 to the speed and luck stats. The Great Lord learns the Aether skill at level 5 and the Rightful King skill at level 15. The Great Lord is an advanced class which promotes from the Lord class.

  • Paladin

The Paladin class is a good upgrade for the Cavalier class: it’s actually an improvement in all areas, featuring a really good HP growth as well as strength, skill and speed. Defense growth is not too good but the starting stat is decent and with some luck you may be able to keep the stat as high as possible. With the possibility to move twice per turn and being a mounted unit, movement is probably the strongest point of the Paladin. If you have been using some Cavaliers for their movement possibilities, consider upgrading one of them to the Paladin class: it’s everything they are and better. Paladins learn the Defender skill at level 5 and the Aegis skill at level 15. The Paladin is an advanced class promoting from the Cavalier starting class.


Article from

Share This Post

Post Comment